Picky, Picky, Picky

Posted on November 8, 2008. Filed under: The Parenting Thing |

Since we have a boy and girl, I often get asked “who’s easier.”  I don’t know if there is really an answer to that but I have to say I’m so happy by son isn’t picky about his clothes.  In fact, there have only been two things I’ve bought for him that he didn’t like.  Our daughter is another story…..and she isn’t even three yet.

A few weeks ago I was getting Punk dressed for the day, she took one look at the cute (I thought) shirt with circles and 3/4 length sleeves and said “no – I don’t like that.”  She had never worn it, how would she know?  So I forced it over her head and she laid on the floor and cried “I don’t like it, I don’t like it” and so on.  Off the shirt came and one of her standard long sleeve t’s went on.  Only then was she happy.  My husband thought it would be hilarious if we tried to put the circle shirt on her every morning to see what would happen.  I went along with it the next morning – I’m a glutten for punishment.  It was at that point she finally revealead her real issue – “I don’t like it.  It’s too small.”  Ahhh — the 3/4 length sleeves were throwing her for a loup.  So, her younger cousin gets a brand new circle shirt.

Her older cousin handed down an adorable sherpa coat for this winter.  Punkdoesn’t like it.  This is a problem because winter is beginning to set in and we’ve had some wind chills lately that deserve wearing a coat.  So, Punk and I went shopping for a different coat, thinking that maybe she didn’t like it because it was brown, had fleece, or who knows what else.  We’ve tried on every coat at every store over the last three days.  She doesn’t like any of them.  I’ve decided she doesn’t like anything bulky, or with a hood.  She doesn’t like footie pj’s, boots, or sweaters of any kind.  I guess she’s destined to spend the winter inside and watch her brother having fun in the snow.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

