Good Kids

Posted on January 17, 2009. Filed under: The Parenting Thing |

Sorry for my absence for a few days, but I really do have a good reason.  Wed afternoon, the BigD took me to a surgeon’s office to have a cyst (or so we thought) removed from the back of my head.  It was supposed to be a relatively simple procedure done right there in the office.  Just a little local, snip, stitch and 20 minutes later I’d be without the bump on the back of my head.  Unfortunately, nothing in life ever works out exactly like it is billed.  After about 20 minutes of cutting and pulling and lord knows what else, the dr figured out what he was working on wasn’t a cyst, but probably a lymph node (or a bunch of them).  He then admitted he would have done this in the or had he known.  Oh goodie.  I’ll spare you the rest of the details, but almost 2 hours later he pulled the final stitch (which I felt because the local had worn off in that area). 

Now to the reason for the title of this little epic – in the days that followed, the kids were so good.  They knew mommy hurt and to be quiet and help daddy….so they did.  These kids, who are normally whirlwinds, walked over to me slowly and said “mommy, do you feel better?”  They would refill my water, get me a pillow or blanket, and then quietly walk into the bedroom and play.  Their genuine concern was so sweet to see and experience.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

