The Tell Me Trick – Tips for Writing a Memory

Posted on January 28, 2009. Filed under: Elemental Memories |

Sometimes it’s difficult to stare a blank page and think of how to write a memory.  When you’ve hit this creative wall, the “tell me” trick can be particularly helpful.  Let’s imagine we want to write a memory of your child’s first day of school…….

Imagine your child saying:

Tell me about my first day of school.

Tell me about what you remember from your first day of school.

Tell me about the school.

Tell me about how I got to school and how I got home.

After you’ve tried this, if you need more ‘content,’ act as if your child said “tell me more….”   Tell me more about….my teacher, how I acted, who my friends were, etc.

Finally, if you need specific details, combine the tell me trick with the reporter’s five: who; what; when why; how.

Tell me who….waited for the bus with me; I sat by on the bus; my teacher was; is in my class.

Tell me what….happened next; Dad did; bus number I was on; picture I drwe; I ate for luch.

Tell me when….school started; I got home; I went to lunch.

Tell me why….I rode the bus; you drove me; I went to a friend’s house after school.

Tell me how….you felt about me going to school; I acted when I waited for the bus; I got to school; I got home.

Use these little tricks and you wn’t have any issues filling blank pages….you just might need some more to fill!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

