Conversations With Children

Posted on February 3, 2009. Filed under: The Parenting Thing |

Last night as I was driving the kids home, Punk was saying “I want a tay.”  I told her I didn’t know what she was asking for so she repeated very loudly and each word separated “I…….WANT……..A……..TAY.”  I laughed and told her she could say it as loud as she wanted but I still didn’t know what she was talking about.

ChickenFried jumped in and said, “I thought she was saying the ‘g’ word.”  I looked at him in the rear view mirror and said “what ‘g’ word?”  He says “g….a” and then air-writes the “y.”

“Gay?” I ask.

“Yeah Mom.  That’s a bad word.”

“Well – not really.  It depends on how you use it.  Do you know what it means?”

“No.”

So I explain as best I can to a 6 (and a half) year old what gay means and that it’s only a bad word if you use it in a mean way.

“Ok.  Can you park outside so I can ride my bike?”

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

