Happy Anniversary

Posted on February 16, 2009. Filed under: Mommy Moments | Tags: |

Friday was the BigD and I’s 10th anniversary.  That’s a really big deal.  10 years, and I have to say, it doesn’t feel like it – and I do mean that in a good way.  We were supposed to go out for a nice dinner Friday night, but the snow came in, and both of the kids were feeling a little under the weather, so we decided to postpone the celebration.  Ironically, I called to cancel the dinner reservation and they had no record of it.   Probably a good thing we didn’t go after all. 

Some highlights of our years together…

Our First Date:  We went to a college world series game, and were having such a nice time together we decided to keep it going and went to a movie.  When you walk out of the movie theater, the concrete changes colors so it looks like you have to step down….so my body did, and I fell to my knees.  Then I laughed hysterically.

Our Third Date: Same movie theater.  I fell…..again.  I laughed harder.  He laughed that time too.  And yes, he still married me!

Our Wedding:  we opted for low key.  Just immediate family to celebrate what really mattered.  Sadly, the BigD’s Dad wasn’t able to make it to the ceremony because he was fighting cancer.  He was there in spirit, but we missed him.

Our Honeymoon:  We scheduled the wedding around an already planned ski trip with my brother.  BigD ended up having the achy flu the days before the wedding and said he wasn’t going to go.  I was bawling and said he had to…it was our honeymoon, etc.  He ended up going with us….and then we found he got altitude sickness.  We left a day early.  The further down the mountain, the better he felt.  The better he felt, the madder I got.  Then I got a speeding ticket on the way home.

Dad’s: Unfortunately, we both lost our Dad’s within about a year of each other.  This was definitely a time of learning and making choices about family.

ChickenFried: I went a week over due and then got induced on a Friday am.  I was in labor over 24 hours and didn’t have the boy until 9:30 Sat am.  He was so beautiful.  I couldn’t hold him right away because I was bleeding a lot, but I could see him across the room.  I swear to this day that he looked at me.

Glenwood: We bought land and built a home outside of Glenwood.  It’s a great little town, and we’ve met a lot of wonderful people (you all know who you are!).

Punk: New doctor….and a scheduled c-section this time.  We decided on the way to the hospital in the am how we would spell her name (obviously not Punk).   I got into the or and the doctors were working away.  They said “one more layer and your little girl will be here.”  I said “where’s my husband?”  They waited for BigD to get into the room.  When they delivered her they kept saying “look at those chunky cheeks.”  I was like ‘how big is this kid?’  She was almost 9 pounds, and very healthy.  And she did have some chunky cheeks. 

And many more to come…

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

2 Responses to “Happy Anniversary”

RSS Feed for Elementally Speaking Comments RSS Feed

Congratulations! Our 5 years has flown by, I”m sure we will be at 10 before we know it! Let us know and we can watch your two when you are ready to go out to celebrate!

10 years! Wow, so I guess Dave has been around a couple years longer than me. 😉

How about the memory of letting your brother and I Cat sit for the first time. That was funny…chasing them with the remote control car and taping their feet! Oh yeah…you weren’t there for that but wow we had fun!

I still remember meeting you both for the first time…little did I know then how much I would love ya both!

Oh, and my favorite memory of the two of you was that I get lost all the time coming to see you! It doesn’t matter if it was going to your house or going to the hospital to see Katy after she was born!

Good luck tomorrow!! 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...