Crazy Day

Posted on March 5, 2009. Filed under: Mommy Moments, The Parenting Thing |

This has been a crazy day.  It literally started shortly after midnight with ChickenFried throwing up.  Then about 1:30, Punk woke up wet because we’d forgotten to put a pull-up on her.  BigD stayed home with CF a while in the am to make sure he was ok, while I took a very crabby Punk to B’s house. 

While driving to work the traffic went from 50 to a dead stop.  I noticed in time and left room between me and the car in front of me, as did the car right behind me….but I kept watching the rear view mirror just to make sure.  What happened next was horrific.  I saw vehicles start slamming into each other and glass flying.  The vehicle two cars behind me had his windshield fly out and over the car right behind me.  I had to maneuver forward so it wouldn’t hit me.  A fellow day-care mom came along later and said the cars left there were just mangled – one had it’s entire rear pushed all the way to the front seat.  I really hope everyone is ok and I feel so guilty for not stopping.  I did call 911, but they were already getting calls. 

I get to work, do my 1.5 hour presentation for 20+, and then back to the 250 e-mails I still haven’t read from my recent time off.  Then, about 12:15, B calls and says Punk isn’t feeling well….she keeps saying she’s going to throw up.  No need to come now, but just a heads up.  Literally 20 minutes later, the school calls and says the CF is sick and can I come get him. 

On the way to get CF, a K-9 unit and state patrol come flying past me (and I’m easily doing 75).  Then I see two more cops.  They have one semi pulled over and are trying to get another one. 

I did make it to get CF and Punk safely, and they are now tucked into their beds.  Hopefully with a good night’s sleep, they’ll both wake up feeling much better.  And hopefully tomorrow will be a little more mundane.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

