Mother of the Year

Posted on June 18, 2009. Filed under: Mommy Moments, The Parenting Thing | Tags: , |

I soooooo win Mother of the Year from my performance last night. 

ChickenFried has a baseball game, at which BigD is the 1st base coach.   I was between home and first on the fenceline talking to another Mom when ChickenFried was up to bat the first time.   The next time I looked he was in the dugout, so I figured he struck-out.  I say something to BigD when he comes off the field and he looks at me like I’m nuts and says “he didn’t strike out- he hit a triple.”  Oh.  Missed it.

Meanwhile, Punk had been playing between the stands and in the little sandbox with the other kids.  I’d peek at her every once in a while and make sure she was staying out of trouble. 

After a few mintues, I peek — and there’s no Punk …. anywhere.  I really start looking around all the stands, where the other kids are.  I’m about ready to ask the dads standing behind me if they saw where she went when I hear “Cris” from first base.  Yep – Punk had run around the stands and fence to go to her daddy at first base.   

What was I doing while she disappeared?  Talking.  Again.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Mother of the Year”

RSS Feed for Elementally Speaking Comments RSS Feed

Nice Cris!!! Oh, how I have done that one
before at the boys games. 🙂

You girls better start watching my grandkids a little better!! 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

