How We Mess Up Our Kids

Posted on June 22, 2009. Filed under: Mommy Moments, The Parenting Thing |

The lazy days of summer have invaded our house, maybe a little too much?

The kids were getting ready to head out into the sprinkler and I really didn’t want to hunt down their swim suits and then help them get dressed so I said “just go in your underwear, or just go naked.”  Ok was their excited response.  Their clothes came off and out they went, naked as can be.  Now let me clarify that you can’t see our house/yard from any of the houses around so we aren’t going for exhibition here — just easy.

A few nights later, the kids were out in the sprinkler again, this time with swim suits on.  Punk has to go potty.  I really don’t want to take her inside, take off her wet suit, help her go pee, put the wet suit back on and go back out …. so we tell her to pee through her suit and we’ll wash her off with the hose.  Yes, yes we did.  And yes, yes she did.  And it worked out fine.

There may be times our kids look back at these days with happiness, but I’m quite sure we have the makings of some therapy sessions here.  “My parents didn’t even care enough about me to send me inside to go to the bathroom.  They made me pee in my swimsuit.”

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “How We Mess Up Our Kids”

RSS Feed for Elementally Speaking Comments RSS Feed

HAH! I love this entry! Partially because I can see myself in the way you handle things (perhaps thats not something about which to brag when it comes to this particular post? I don’t know…) and also because my parents knew someone years ago who’s wife was out of town and he was forced to keep the kids for the weekend. The baby had a dirty diaper and instead of changing him the correct way, he stripped off his diaper, held him up by his hands and swished his dirty butt around in the kiddy pool. yuck! you can rest easy knowing there is someone even lazier than you! 😉 I am visiting from Mom Bloggers and I plan on making your blog a daily read! Thanks for the entertainment! -Emily

Wow — wonder if he let anyone in the kiddie pool after that!!! Thanks for visiting and I’ll check out your blog as well!

lol! I remember it being like that when i was a kid, from this story.. i hadn’t much thought of it until now though! so if that is any consolation..lol…


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

