Saturday 9 Yankee Doodle Dandy

Posted on July 4, 2009. Filed under: Meme Fun | Tags: |

1. What is your favorite 4th of July memory? (If you aren’t in the U.S., then use your own national holiday.)
My little brother LOVED fireworks.  He would spend a ton of money to get the good ones and then put on a show at our grandparents every year.  He would announce the name of each firework before he set it off.  He hates being reminded of that now, but it was pretty cute at the time.

 

2. Do you consider yourself patriotic?

Yes – I get a little misty eyed at parades when the vets go by, or at ball games when you hear the entire crowd singing the National Anthem (seriously – it is hard to sing, but don’t change it).

3. Do you like fireworks?

I do enjoy fireworks.  We tried to go see the show last night, but first the ball game went into extr innings (It was already 9:30 and we have two little kids).  Then a storm moved in and they put the game on hold.  We gave up and went home.  The kids were asleep before we even got out of town.   I think we’ll try again tonight with a different show.

4. What are your plans for this weekend?

It’s still a bit rainy and yucky today, although they say it’s going to clear up.  Punk ended up sick, so we’re laying pretty low at home – cook out … then maybe try and hit the other big show tonight.
5. Are you optimistic about the future?

I’m realistically optimistic.

6. Do you think everyone should serve in the military?

Hmmmm …. tough question.  Lord knows I wouldn’t have been any good at it, and I totally admire my sister-in-law for doing the National Guard thing.  And, I wouldn’t really want my kids to do it.

7. Would you support a constitutional ban on flag burning?

No.  That would go against the entire basis of the constitution.  Having said that, I certainly don’t like it. 

fighters

8. What end of the political spectrum are you?

I tend to be a bit more liberal, but also believe people should take personal responsibility for every choice and action and not expect handouts for everything little thing that goes wrong in their life.  I also agree wtih George Washington that we never should have introduced political parties because that skews the entire foundation of the political system.

9. Where do you get your news?

Not Bill O’Reilly.  Seriously, who gave him a show and crowned him a “journalist?”  I take all news with a grain of salt and try to read/watch several different sources when I have the chance.  I have to say, I do enjoy fark.com now and then!!!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Saturday 9 Yankee Doodle Dandy”

RSS Feed for Elementally Speaking Comments RSS Feed

You have to be optimistic about the future…otherwise, what’s the point?

Reserves Crisdee, Reserves not national guard 😉

Yeah, Conor and I already have said our kids have to go active if they do it…then at least they know full well what they are getting into!!

Conor and I did have Carson out to watch the fireworks..but he said he was NOT going to spend that much money on fireworks ever for Carson…we will see. We watched the neighbors for about 4 1/2 minutes and then went back inside…Carson was out!! But he loved them…I see a future mini-Conor!!

Happy 4th! We missed ya!!

My bad – I always get confused between the two.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

