The Queen’s Meme — The Woodstock Meme

Posted on August 11, 2009. Filed under: Meme Fun | Tags: , |

awoodstock

These are my instructions to play along.  I’ve filled in the blanks with my answers in italics…..and in case you’re wondering where I came up with this crap, it’s all tied to who performed at Woodstock that fateful weekend.

Forty years ago this week, three days of peace, love and rock ‘n roll (and mud) happened near Bethel, New York.  It was the Summer of 1969.  Attire: Hippie jeans.  Long hair.  Legal or illegal smoke.  Psychedelic vibe. 

The scene:  You are at Woodstock.  You go alone but meet up with a beautiful man/woman.  You spend three days together.  Put yourself inside the peace & love vibe.  You can choose to be stoned or straight.  I put it in the story for the sake of reality.  Just don’t inhale in this meme.

This is the conversation you have upon meeting or you can make it into what you overhear others say.  It makes no sense and has no continuity by design.  You must fill in the familiar blanks to finish the story.  Some are song lyrics.  You may use more than one word to fill in the blanks. 

Oh! I forgot to tell you (must be the smoke in here)   You have a new name.  It must a combination of the first letter of your first name, the third letter of your middle name and the last letter of your last name.

Peace out! Somebody might wanna turn on a fan in here.

1. “Hello, my groovy name is Janis Joplin (why not??  maybe Bobby McGee was there too)!    By the looks of those flowers in your hair, you must be The Grateful Dead.   Didn’t they tell you?  No Canned Heat allowed!  

2. Come on, Baby, light my Iron Butterfly.  When I lay me down to Crosby, Stills and Nash, I pray the The Band my Incredible String Band to keep.  If I Sha-Na-Na before I wake, I pray the The Grateful Dead my The Fish to take. **puff puff**

3. Because the first time ever I saw your Sweetwater I realized that what the world needs now is blood, sweat and sweet tears.  Besides, I always feel guilty watching you Shankar when I should be Santana.  But I dig it!

4. Have I told you lately that I Sly you?  Hey!  Don’t step on that Creedance Clearwater Revival !!  Dude.       That guy is really weird but…..

5. There’s a party in my sleeping bag and half a million of my Keef Hartley Band friends are coming over tonight and we’re gonna Hendrix my baby off my mind.  Darn the luck.  It’s raining Quills(s) and Mountain(s).  Luckily, Papa was a rolling Jefferson Airplane and I’m on a first name basis with the cops. **puff puff** 

6. I’m really digging your Melanie but that Sommer has got to go.   Those flowers in your hair are beginning to smell like Winter.  Have I told you lately that I Butterfield you? ** puff puff**

7. I’m beginning to see Jefferson Airplane in those trees over there. Do you see it? Out of all the millions of hippies here, you are the most Ravi. But I dig it, man. **puff puff**

8. I’d use all my blood, sweat and The Family Stone (Tears was too easy) just to get next to your Joe Cocker.  Love is free but I’d really like to buy that guy’s String. It says “Make The Who not Sha-Na-Na. ”  Far out!

9. I’m grateful to be John Sebastian ’cause there’s a bad Sweetwater rising in Jefferson’s Airplane.  But that’s okay, ’cause Joe Cocker said I could get by with a little Canned Heat from my friends.

10. Oh, by the way, your McDonald is on fire. But I dig it. **

You might stay out of the dungeon if you post a picture of yourself or someone you know in your hippie clothes (if you’re old enough)**

And, the pdr (my Mom is sweating right now — rest assured Mom.  I’m too tired to go dig an old pic of you out!!!).  Here is little Punk in her Halloween costume – she was a hippie chick … courtesy of who else but my Mom!!!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “The Queen’s Meme — The Woodstock Meme”

RSS Feed for Elementally Speaking Comments RSS Feed

You really worked hard to come up with all those groups and your meme was fun.

Thanks so much!

I love the way all the groups appeared in the answers. Very clever!
Jefferson Airplane in the trees.
Yep. That was the sixties.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

