Travel to Guernsey

Posted on September 3, 2009. Filed under: Mommy Moments, Things I Love | Tags: , |

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer: Book CoverNo – I’m not headed on another trip, but the book my mother gave me, “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society” made me feel like I’d not only traveled to the Channel Islands with Juliet, but also back in time. 

“Guernsey” is set in post-war England/Guernsey.  The story is told through a series of letters.  Juliet is the central character – she’s a little snarky, witty, fun, curious, empathetic — I’d like to think she’s something like me!  She is seeking a topic for a new book and happens to receive a letter from a man who lives in Guernsey inquiring about some books.  She gets to know a group of charachters (and I don’t mean characters in a book — I mean characters by way of personality) living on Guernsey and of their difficulties during the German occupation. 

The reason I love this book is you feel like you know every person in the book.  You feel like you should pick up a pen and paper and write them a letter yourself. 

My one tiny complaint is the ending.  It ends, but I felt there was just one little piece missing.  I won’t say what so I don’t spoil the story for anyone who is planning to read this book.   If you do end up reading it, I’d love to hear your thoughts…..and if you now want to holiday in Guernsey in “the big house.”

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Travel to Guernsey”

RSS Feed for Elementally Speaking Comments RSS Feed

I loved this book too. It’s one of the best I’ve read in quite some time. I learned things I did not know about the War. After a while, you forget that the book is written in letter form. I would love to take a trip there.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

