The Secret is in the Sauce

Posted on November 25, 2009. Filed under: Mommy Moments | Tags: , , |

I was so pleased to get out of work a tad early and hoped I would miss the massive after-work push at the local grocery store.    I was pleased to get a decent parking spot and only had to make a few faces and utter a few words under my breath at the idiots cluelessly blocking the aisles.  I slid right into a check-out line, paid my hard-earned money and walked out quite pleased with myself.  That is when disaster struck.   Always — when you are least suspecting it. 

I was crossing the traffic lane to gt to my car – traffic stopped both ways.  I hear something hit the cart, feel something hit my leg and I do a stupid bad cheerleader jump trying to avoid whatever it might be.  It was the jar of spaghetti sauce.  It did hit the cement.  It did shatter sending sauce everywhere, including my legs and feet.  I did look at the cars …..  looking at me …. holding back laughs.  And then I kept on walking with as much dignity as I could possibly muster.   I used the 7 napkins in my car to try and wipe as much sauce off my jeans and shoes as I could, but my car smelled like an Italian restaurant the entire way home.

So, as you have any small Thanksgiving meltdowns, burned buns, spilled wine, etc., think of me.   Spaghetti, smelly, butt of many jokes me.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “The Secret is in the Sauce”

RSS Feed for Elementally Speaking Comments RSS Feed

So you are saying we won’t be eating Spaghetti at your house this weekend??? 😉


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

