Let The Sun Shine ….. please

Posted on February 23, 2010. Filed under: Mommy Moments | Tags: , , |

You may have noticed I haven’t been feeling too bloggy lately.   I may have a sporadic thought of something to post, but just don’t seem to get around to it.   I think I can sum up the (lame) reason with a phrase everyone in my area is screaming — “I’m so sick of winter.  I just can’t take it anymore.” 

It doesn’t help that I personally know at least 20 people who have gone to Mexico in the last two weeks.  I saw one friend the day she got back.  She was so tan.   The real kind you get from the sun.  I wanted to go “Silence of the Lambs” on her and steal her skin, but I refrained. 

Therefore, it also doesn’t help that BigD and I have NOOOOOOO vacations planned in the near future.  Last year this time I was tagging along with him on a vegas trip.  Do you know how much flights are to Vegas right now — over $400.  Not happening.   I refuse to spend $400 for a flight when I’m only going to be there 4 days.  There is something really backwards about that.  Southwest take note — I will not be purchasing a flight from you. 

We had snow in October.  More snow in November.  And the snow that came in December is still here plus an inch or so every few days.   I was behind a car the other day with the license plates “LUVSNOW.”  They put a clarifying sign in their back window, “but I’m tired of driving in it.”

I must have had an inkling because this year I bought the “good” snow gear for the kiddos.   It was money well spent, and the gloves and snow pants are still falling apart.  Poor Punk asked the other day if she could wear shoes “becuase I haven’t worn shoes in a really long time.”

Forget spring, I’m ready for summer.  I’m ready to get my hammock out and laze in the warm sun.  I’m ready to hear the lawn mower.  I’m ready to hear the kids run through the sprinkler.  I’m ready for no socks and flip-flops.  I won’t go so far as to say I’m ready for a swim suit, but I’d sure the weather that would allow it!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Let The Sun Shine ….. please”

RSS Feed for Elementally Speaking Comments RSS Feed

Amen to that…I am so sick of indoor recess!! The kids need to go out and play…it does wonders for their ability to sit and focus when they are inside!! :0)

Amen!

We’ve had a few really nice days a week or so ago and got flower beds cleaned out and then the cold weather hit again. You and all your lovely children are more than welcome to come on down perhaps over Easter. We have more than enoug room for everyone and I know you would have a good time. Lots of places to hide easter eggs and the weather should be cooperating by then and we could possible get the boat in the water. If I can drive it, you guys can drive it. Seriously, we would love to have you come on down. Aunt Carol & Uncle David

I’m jealous – today was the nicest so far – I do have daffodils up about 4 inches. The’ll be in for a shock when it snows tomorrow!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

